Search & Rescue Group wins Alpine Shire Australia Day Award

Kiewa Aust day 5 a 2

Some of the group members, pictured from left:  Jim Gargan, Jarrod Paine, Bill Little, Bob Flower, Tony Keeble (Shire Councilor who presented the Award and also a member), Marty Eriksson and founding member, Bruce Vine.

The Alpine Shire 2016 Organisation of the Year was awarded to the Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club Search & Rescue Group which has been called-out for rescues in the region’s high plains and remote areas 80 times since its formation in 1982 (33 years). The Group was formed through the initiative of Bruce Vine.

On searches, the Group works under the direction of the Victorian Police S&R and is affiliated with Bush Search & Rescue – Victoria.

The Group has had only three coordinators over its 33 years history i.e. Bruce Vine (1982-1994 – 13 yrs), Phil Evans (1995-2011 – 17 yrs) and currently Ian Franzke from 2012+.

This award is great recognition for many years of community service from the Club’s S&R Group. Congratulations.

This entry was posted in Information, Search & Rescue. Bookmark the permalink.