Junior Birkies

Junior Birkie On-Snow Coaching – 2022

When — Sundays — 24th July, 31st July, 7th August & 14th August.
Time — 1- 2.30 pm.
Where to Meet — At the Birke Clubhouse. Please be on time.
Age Group — Grade 5 to Year 9.

Coaching will be in classic & skating.

Please RSVP if you are planning to attend any of the sessions — to the Secretary <secretary@birkebeiner.org.au>

Also available is the Snow, Trek & Travel Wodonga — Mini-Series which is a series of fun races for all juniors including Junior Joeys and skiers of ALL abilities.  Note: Skiers in the Victorian Junior XC Ski Team are not eligible to enter the Mini-Series but they are invited to help out on the day!

2022 Mini-Series events

  1. Mini Series #1 — Sunday 7th August — 11:00 am start. Distances of 0.5, 1.5, 2.5 km (C)
  2. Mini Series #2 — Saturday 10th September — 11:00 am start. Distances of 0.5, 1.5, 2.5 km (F)
    Note: (C) = Classical style of XC Skiing and (F) = Freestyle (usually skating)

Age groups from U8 through to U16 & U18. Age is taken as of 31/12/2022. Entry Fee $10.00.

Contact is Lynn-Maree Cullen Mob: 0409 592 226 or Email <lmc0511@gmail.com>

2022 Birkie Junior Ski Team – Dry-Land Program

For Grade 4 to Year 12 students –  from intermediate to
advanced cross country skiers.

The purpose of the 2022 Birkie Junior Ski Team is to assist junior skiers in learning more about cross-country ski training and racing.  We are hoping that some team members will be able to compete in 2021 junior XC ski race competitions, such as Interschools and State and National-level races.

The Birkie Junior Ski Team is an innovation of the BNSC.  This year’s team coordinators are club members Paul Gray (2 x Winter Olympian), Tim Retchford (past National Team member) and Kate Duggan (active local skier).  Paul and Tim have extensive experience as elite athletes and coaches, and Kate is the team super-organizer and motivator.  Additional coaches may also assist, depending upon team size, including club members Esther Bottomley (3 x Winter Olympian) and Nick Blackwell (current National Team member).

The sessions will mostly target skill development on roller skis.  Please note: No prior roller ski experience is necessary.  The BNSC will provide roller skis for use during the training sessions.  Activities will include agility courses, specific technique development, time trials, relays and ball games on roller skis.  We may also do non-roller skiing activities including running (with poles) and circuit training.

WHEN: Training commences Monday 2nd May 2022. Meet at 4:00 pm for a 4:15 pm sharp start. The session concludes at 5:15 pm.

Sessions will take place each Monday during Term 2.

WHERE: Meet outside the ski room at Mount Beauty Secondary College.

  • Protective pads (knee, elbow, wrist)
  • Ski boots (if they are compatible with Salomon bindings)
  • Helmet
  • Ski poles
  • Gloves
  • Water bottle

COST: FREE for BNSC team members.

There is no cost to be a member of the team however all athletes must be current financial members of the BNSC.  Junior membership is $25/year.  Follow the link to the membership portal.


Contact either Tim Retchford 0401 321 665, Paul Gray 0403 188 481 or Kate Duggan 0420 515 712. An application form will be emailed to you, to complete and bring to the session.

SAVE THE DATE: Birkie Junior Camp is usually the last weekend of the Victorian Term 2 school holidays. View details [HERE].

2010/2011 Junior Birkie Development Camp photos

Click to enlarge a photo

Click to enlarge photo

Juniors of yesteryear (1983)

1983 Juniors including two Olympians – Jenny Smith (BNSC), Anthony Evans (WSC & three-time Olympian), David Holman (TNSC), Drew Bantick (BNSC), Andrew Kromar (TNSC) & Paul Gray (BNSC & two time Olympian)