Australia Day Awards – 2017

The Alpine Shire Council Australia Day 2017 Community Awards were held on Thursday 26th January in Hydro Park Mount Beauty (newly named park next the the Mt Beauty Swimming Pool).

Congratulations to:

  • Allan Marsland who was awarded an Order of Australia (OA) Medal. This will be officially presented to Allan at Government House in April.
  • The Kangaroo Hoppet which was announced as The Community Event of the Year. Race Director Ben Derrick received the award on behalf of the organisation.

Note: At last year’s awards ceremony, Birkebeiner’s Search & Rescue Unit was awarded The Community Organisation of the Year. Some years ago the Kangaroo Hoppet was also awarded the The Community Organisation of the Year.

It was great to see so many Birkebeiner and Hoppet volunteers at the awards.

From left: Ben Derrick (Race Director), Ronice Goebel (President Birkebeiner NSC), Allan Marsland (Board Chairman) & Helen L’Huillier (Race Secretary)

This entry was posted in Information. Bookmark the permalink.