Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club Annual General Meeting

15th May 2018

MINUTES

1. Attendance

Ronice Goebel (Chairperson)), Paul L'Huillier, Helen L'Huillier, Ann Bellingham, Patricia Cross, Allan Marsland, Michael Trnka, Ewen Silvester, Nick Wright, Bob Flower, Jeanette McLaren, Blair Hume, Peter Smith, Jim Crebbin, Paul Gray & Brian Keeble.

2. Apologies

Ian Franzke, Tony Keeble, Megan Benne, Bronwyn Gray, Michelle Forrer, Russ Bellingham, Meg Crebbin, Scott Verco, Jim Gargan, Penny Goebel, Buss Bellingham, Bill Little & Kerry Lucus.

3. Recognition of Award to Nick Wright

The meeting recognised with acclamation the awarding of the Victorian Volunteer of the Year Award by SAXCC to Nick Wright for his outstanding and ongoing commitment to the BNSC and Kangaroo Hoppet Race Committees.

4. Minutes of the Annual General Committee meeting held on 18 May 2016

Motion: That the circulated records be affirmed as a true and proper record. Moved: Nick Wright. Seconded: Ewen Silvester. Carried. Business arising from the Minutes – Nil.

5. Reports:

5.1. President's Report (Ronice Goebel)

The Presidents written report was tabled. Achievements over the past year were highlighted and anticipated programs for the coming year were noted

- 5.2. Treasurer's Report (Jeanette McLaren) The financial statement from May 2017 to March 2018 was tabled and the Treasurer reported that the Club was in a strong financial position.
 Motion: That the circulated financial records be affirmed as a true and proper record. Moved: Allen Marsland. Seconded: Ann Bellingham. Carried
- 5.3. Search and Rescue (Ian Franzke). No Report
- **5.4.** Race Committee (Marg Jowitt) The Race Committee's written report was tabled. Last season's achievements were highlighted and a list of 2018 Race Dates noted.

5.5. Junior Committee (Michelle Forrer)

The Junior Committee's written report was tabled. The report highlighted achievements and noted some shortcomings over the past year and looked ahead to even greater success in the coming year.

5.6. Kangaroo Hoppet Race Committee

Verbal report from both Nick Wright and Allen Marsland which noted that the 2018 Hoppet Race Committee's 2018 first meeting will be held in June and a report will be prepared for the next BNSC Committee meeting.

5.7. Clubhouse

Verbal report by Brian Keeble and Ronice Goebel which noted that:

- 5.7.1 Heating in the clubhouse has been investigated and a recommendation will be put to the Committee at the conclusion of this meeting.
- 5.7.2 Work is ongoing to comply with items listed in the Building Code and Bushfire Risk Assessment report.
- 5.7.3 A new lease is being negotiated with the FCRM and is near completion and ready to be signed.

5.8. Social Secretary.

Verbal report from Ronice Goebel. The meeting thanked Kerry Lucas for her work as Social Secretary over many years and noted that the new Committee will need to appoint a new Social Secretary. It was announced that this years "Casserole Dinner" will be held on Saturday 16th June (the weekend after the long weekend in June).

5.9. Newsletter

Verbal report from Ronice Goebel. The next newsletter is due out by the end of May and articles need to be sent to Kate Prest as soon as possible.

5.10. Membership Secretary

Nick Wright reported that the organisation that looked after our membership payments no longer exists and the Committee will need to appoint a new provider of this service.

5.11. Snow Mobile

Verbal report by Nick Wright that noted:

- 5.11.1 The Skidoo is ready for this season.
- 5.11.2 Some repair work is needed on both sleds
- 5.11.3 FCRM will issue the Club with a Fuel Card so that the Club can access fuel for the skidoo from their fuel pump at the workshop.
- 5.11.4 To reduce strain on the skidoo drive belt it is strongly recommended that the load weight carried in the sleds be reduced and that no more than 2 people be transported on the skidoo & sled at any one time.
- 5.11.5 People should not be transported on the sleds.

Motion That all the reports be received Moved: Helen L'Huillier. Second: Blair Hume. Carried.

6. Election of 2017/18 Committee

6.1. President	Ewen Silvester Proposer: Michelle Forrer. Seconder: Johanna Pihkanen Elected unopposed.
6.2. Vice President	Michelle Forrer Proposer: Ewen Silvester. Seconder: Johanna Pihkanen Elected unopposed

6.3. Treasurer	Jeanette McLaren Proposer: Ewen Silvester. Seconder: Nick Wright Elected unopposed.
6.4. Secretary	Ronice Goebel Proposer: Paul L'Huillier. Seconder: Ann Bellingham Elected unopposed.

6.5. Ordinary Committee Members The following list of Committee Members were all proposed, seconded and elected unopposed.

Nick Wright (who will become Membership Secretary) Ann Bellingham (who will become Race Secretary) Blair Hume Peter Smith Allan Marsland Brian Keeble Penny Goebel Paul Gray Scott Verco.

7. Membership Fees

Motion:	That the 2018/19 membership fees be the same as last year
	Family \$70, Single \$35, Student \$25 and Associate \$20.
	Moved: Bob Flower. Seconded: Nick Wright. Carried.

8. Nest Meeting. 2019 AGM to be held on Tuesday 21st May.

9. Presentation to Ronice Goebel

The newly elected President (Ewen Silvester) made a presentation to Ronice Goebel in recognition for her excellent work and dedication as President of the Club for the past four years. The presentation was followed by acclamation from the meeting

10. Close of Meeting 8.30 pm.

NOTE.

At the conclusion of the AGM the new Committee was convened to discuss the following two issues:

- 1. Online membership provider.
- 2. Clubhouse Heating