Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club Annual General Meeting

7.30 pm Wednesday, 17 May 2017

The Auditorium, The Information Centre (The Large Hoppet Meeting Room) Kiewa Valley Highway Mount Beauty

MINUTES

1. Attendance

Ronice Goebel (in the Chair), Paul L'Huillier, Ann Bellingham, Doug Hamilton, Oldrich Sadilek, John Bailey, Patricia Cross, Bill Little, Allan Marsland, Marg Trnka, Ewen Silvester, Nick Wright, Penny Goebel, Kerry Lucas, Chris Hamilton, Dianna Bukovac, Jim Gargan.

2. Apologies

Blair Hume, Ian Franzke, Tony Keeble, Bob Flower, Megan Benne, Grant and Emma Flanagan, Paul and Bronwyn Gray, Ross Hamilton, Alice Hamilton, Michelle Forrer, Helen L'Huillier, Brian Keeble, Janette McClaren, Russ Bellingham. Jim and Meg Crebbin.

3. Presentation of Award to Marg Trnka

Ronice presented Marg Trnka with the trophy for her award as a Victorian Volunteer of the Year Award from SSAXC. She noted Marg's excellent conduct of her role as race secretary for many years has been essential to the successful running of conduct of many key races in the XC calendar.

4. Minutes of the Annual General Committee meeting held on 18 May 2016 Motion:

That the circulated records be affirmed as a true and proper record.

Moved: Doug Hamilton.

Seconded: Marg Trnka.

Carried

5. Reports

5.1. President's Report

The meeting noted the circulated President report. Ronice highlighted Helen L'Huillier's Ian Ryan Award, that 12 new roller skies have been purchased, that Miles Havlick will be our new overseas coach and the successful working bee including work on the Rocky Valley wall.

5.2. Treasurer's Report

Ann Bellingham spoke to her report, noting the club's financial position was good and that fees from the Hoppet were still due. The club had received several donations including an anonymous donation of \$1000 for the Junior Joeys. There were also purchases of roller skis made and still to be made. The club has started a new banking account with Bendigo Bank.

Motion:

That the circulated records be affirmed as a true and proper record.

Moved: Ewen Silvester.

Seconded: Nick Wright.

Carried

5.3. Search and Rescue

Doug read from an emailed report from Ian Franzke. There had been no rescues over the snow season, and training continued.

5.4. Race Committee

Marg referred to her tabled report. All the scheduled races had been run. The Nationals were run in appalling weather, but it was a successful weekend.

The meeting noted the tabled report.

5.5. Junior Report

Planning is underway for North East Primary Schools XC Carnival. Mount Beauty Primary School will bring 30 young people to the carnival and it is hoped up to 100 young people will participate.

5.6. Kangaroo Hoppet Race Committee

Kerry Lucas is transitioning into the job as Hoppet Secretary. Nick Wright said the club needs to encourage more members t help out at the Hoppet.

5.7. Clubhouse

The meeting noted the tabled report.

5.8. Social

Kerry Lucas read from her tabled report. Numbers had been down on a number events for no apparent reason. The BBQ was very enjoyable except for Harry's broken arm.

5.9. Newsletter

Kate Prest has taken over as newsletter editor. The first edition will be out soon.

5.10. Membership

Jim Reported that the club has 156 memberships. There are 80 family, 57 adult, 4 junior, 5 associate, and 10 life members.

5.11. Snow Mobile

Nick reported the snow mobile was running well, the fuel tank was repaired and a new drive belt will need to be installed soon. A new tow ball that will allow the towing of other resort trailers will be fitted soon.

5.12. Membership fee

Motion:

That the membership fee remain the same.

Moved: Bill Little.

Seconded: Doug Hamilton.

Carried

6. Election of 2016/17 Office Bearers

6.1. Nominations for office bearers - Clause 52

• President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary

Doug Hamilton noted that Ronice Goebel has been nominated for the position of president, Michelle Forrer for the position of the Vice President, Julie Smith for the position of Treasurer, and Doug Hamilton as Secretary.

6.2. Call for nominations from the floor

There were no further nominations from the floor.

As there were no further nominations the nominated members were declared elected to the positions.

6.3. Financial Signatories

Motion:

That the financial signatories for the club's Bendigo Bank accounts be Julie Smith, Doug Hamilton and Ronice Goebel.

Moved: Jim Gargan.

Seconded: Doug Hamilton.

Carried

6.4. Call for expressions of interest in portfolio and ordinary committee member positions – Clause 53

Nominations had been received from the following members:

Social Secretary - Kerry Lucas

Club Bulletin - Kate Prest

Membership Secretary - Jim Gargan

Convener Race Committee - Marg Trnka

Convener S&R - Ian Franzke

Nick Wright (Hoppet Race Committee)

Megan Benne and Tony Keeble (Club House)

Allan Marsland

Ann Bellingham

Penny Goebel

Blair Hume

Brian Keeble

Ewen Silvester.

As there were no further nominations from the floor these members were declared elected.

Paul L'Huillier asked that the executive at its next meeting consider raising the fee for other clubs hiring the snow mobile to \$130 per day.

Ronice drew member's attention to the club's new roller skiing policy developed in consultation with the police to ensure the safety of club members and other road users. The policy will be noted in the newsletter and placed in the policy section of the club website.

7. Close of Meeting

The meeting closed at 8.28 pm.