Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club Annual General Meeting

7.30 pm Wednesday, 18 May 2016

Large Conference Room, Neighbourhood Centre, 1 Tennis Court Avenue Mount Beauty

MINUTES

1. Attendance

Blair Hume (in the Chair), Ian Franzke, Daniel van der Ploeg, Ann Bellingham, Kerry Lucas, Paul L'Huillier, Marg Trnka, Russ Bellingham, Allan Marsland, Oldrich Sadilek, Mal Oldis, James Gargan, John Bailey, Penny Goebel, Patricia Cross, Doug Hamilton.

2. Apologies

Helen L'Huillier, Nick Wright, Jim and Meg Crebbin, Bob Flower, Andrew Walker, Michelle Forrer, Megan Benne, Tony Keeble, Alice Hamilton, Ronice Goebel, Brian Keeble, Gerry and Jenny van der Ploeg.

3. Minutes of the Annual General Committee meeting held on 20 May 2015

Motion:

That the circulated records be affirmed as a true and proper record.

Moved: Jim Gargan.

Seconded: Marg Trnka.

Carried

4. Reports

4.1. President's Report

The meeting noted the circulated President report.

4.2. Treasurer's Report

Ann Bellingham spoke to her report, noting the club's financial position was good and that approximately \$2000 was still due to the club from the Hoppet.

4.3. Search and Rescue

Ian Franzke reported that there had been one rescue on Bogong for a person with a broken leg in Cairn Creek Gully. Rob Bolland, Bob Flower and others had been involved in the rescue together with the Falls Creek Ski Patrol.

The group won an award for the Best Community Organisation, for its long term commitment to the community. Bush Search and Rescue will be conducting more training this year at Falls Creek in about the last week of July.

4.4. Race Committee

Marg referred to her tabled report. Marg Trnka reported that the club will be conducting the Rocky Valley Rush this year as a classic race. The club will also conduct the Birkie Classic and the Ski de Femme this year.

The new timing system is working well. Marg hopes to train another race secretary to take over next year.

4.5. Junior Committee

The meeting noted the tabled report.

4.6. Kangaroo Hoppet Race Committee

Allan Marsland reported that the 2015 Hoppet was an excellent event. The first 2016 meeting of the Hoppet Committee will be on 8 June in the Hoppet meeting room. He noted Graeme Bottomley has been working on social media for the Hoppet.

The entries have opened for the 2016 Hoppet, with online entries this year being managed by a New Zealand company.

Hoppet timing this year will be conducted in a partnership with the club using its new timing system with work for this being done by Michal Trnka and Bill Little.

Blair Hume asked whether a package deal with the Hoppet entry and Howman's Gap accommodation could be negotiated. It was agreed this would be discussed at the next committee meeting.

4.7. Clubhouse

The meeting noted the tabled report.

4.8. Social

Kerry Lucas read from her tabled report.

4.9. Newsletter

Paul L'Huillier noted he would continue to produce the newsletter this year and that copy for it would be due on the first of every month.

4.10. Membership

4.11. Snow Mobile

Ian Franzke reported that the new fuel tank had been fitted for the snow mobile. As it is from a slightly different model, a new fuel pump has had to be ordered also from the USA and will e delivered soon at a cost of \$1355.

There was discussion about whether the snowmobile should be fitted with a tow ball, and whether it could be used to tow a Ginzu for track preparation. Some members said track preparation was the responsibility of the resort. This matter will be discussed at the next committee meeting.

Motion

That the above reports be received. Moved: Marg Trnka. Seconded: Patricia Cross. Carried.

5. Election of 2016/17 Office Bearers

- **5.1.** Nominations for office bearers Clause 52
 - President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary

Doug Hamilton noted that Ronice Goebel has been nominated for the position of resident, Blair Hume for the position of the Vice President, Ann Bellingham for the position of Treasurer, and Doug Hamilton as Secretary.

5.2. Call for nominations from the floor

There were no further nominations from the floor.

As there were no further nominations the nominated members were declared elected to the positions.

5.3. Call for expressions of interest in portfolio and ordinary committee member positions – Clause 53

Nominations had been received from the following members: Social Secretary - Kerry Lucas Club Bulletin - Paul L'Huillier Membership Secretary - Jim Gargan Convener Race Committee - Marg Trnka Convener S&R - Ian Franzke Nick Wright (Race Committee) Megan Benne and Tony Keeble (Club House) Allan Marsland Michelle Forrer.

As there were no further nominations from the floor these members were declared elected.

6. Membership Fees

The constitution requires that the meeting consider whether membership fees should be increased. Doug Hamilton noted that the committee at its last meeting had decided to recommend that fees not be increased this year. He put the following motion:

Motion

That the membership fees for the year 2016/17 not increase. Moved: Doug Hamilton. Seconded: Marg Trnka. Carried.

The possibility of the club or another organisation taking over the running of the Mount Beauty was raised. It was agreed that the committee would consider this at its next meeting.

7. Close of Meeting The meeting closed at 8.28 pm.