B IRKEBEINER ULLETIN				
Volume 37 No. 6 October 2014	Ben	idigo Bank	A Company of the second	
PO Bo W	ox 192 Mor Telephon ebsite: http	e Birkebeiner Nordic Ski (unt Beauty Victoria 3699 e: (03) 57544323 p://birkebeiner.org.au ess blittle@netspace.net.au	Club	
This Issue: Annual BBQ	1	President 57592639	Ronice Goebel ronice.goebel@gmail.com	
Hoppet Podiums Hoppet Photos Nationals Photos National Teams Pre Hoppet checking photos Membership renewals Editor wanted	2 3 4 5 6 6 6 6	0409 332 642 Vice President Secretary 5754 4323 0422 049 207 Assistant Sec. Treasurer 57541815 Newsletter Editor & Membership Secreta 57544174 Social Secretary 5754 1341 0407 814 114 Committee Members Alice Hamilton Allan Marsland 5754454 Ian Franzke 5754 128 Jim Gargan 5754 178 Marg Trnka 5754463	ry blittle@netspace.net.au Kerry Lucas km.lucas@bigpond.com hamilton.alice.l@edumail.vic.gov.au allan.marsland@gmail.com 1 anfranzke@hotmail.com 85 gargan@internode.on.net	

Annual BBQ at the Pondage. The annual BBQ will be held at the pondage on **Sunday 23rd November** from 5.30pm for a 6pm start. Families bring a salad and dessert to share Singles/Couples bring a salad or dessert. The club will provide meat (veggie burgers available) and bread. BYO chairs, drinks, crockery and cutlery. In the case of inclement weather, the BBQ will be held under the verandah at the Hoppet Office.

Hoppet Podium Photographs with BNSC members as indicated, one third of the place getters.



Kangaroo Hoppet Podium Women Valentina Shevchenko, Esther Bottomley (BNSC) (missing Barbara Jezersek)



Australian Birkebeiner Podium Women Kat Paul (BNSC), Casey Wright (BNSC), Aislinn Kildea (BNSC)



Joey Hoppet Podium Women Darcie Morton, Gabrielle Hawkins, Stella Ajani



Kangaroo Hoppet Podium Men Phillip Bellingham (BNSC), Valerio Leccardi, Paul Kovacs (BNSC)



Australian Birkebeiner Podium Men Jackson Bursill, Damon Morton, Mark Pollock



Joey Hoppet Podium Men Hugh Pollard (BNSC), Matt Bull, Finlay Clarke

Photos filched from http://ausxc.com/

Hoppet Day



Start Officials: left to right: Meg Crebbin & Brigitte Hammer (Swiss)



Start Officials: left to right: Peter Panozzo, Jenny Farrington, John Bailey, Phil Evans and Rob Boland



Half Way Drink Station: Wangaratta Ski Club on the job

Start Officials: 'such enthusiasm'

Peter Panozzo's 'art work'



Photos courtesy Paul L'Huillier

National Championships



Three officials at National Distance Champs: left to right: Roni McDowell, Jackie Kildea and Helen L'Huillier



Hard working Race Secretary Marg Trnka 'on the job'.



National Distance Champs: The Silvester family 'finish drink station'.



Officials around Marso's Elgas Heater 'doing it tough'. Ken Harvey wants one for the Sun Valley far checkpoint!



National Distance Champs start: left to right Bob Flower, Steve McDowell and Roger Blackwell.



National Distance Champs: Keebs 'marshalling the troops'



National Sprint Champs: Racer Kat Paul. Officials: left to right: Ronice Goebel (marshal), Andrew Walker (starter), Ric Spiller (wand) and Paul Gray (on the pad).



Nationals (close up and personal): left to right: Jessica Yeaton (our new Ozzie) and Esther Bottomley.

Photos courtesy Paul L'Huillier

Cross Country Skiing National Team Selection 2014-2015

	Men	Women
World Cup Team	Callum Watson Phillip Bellingham 👄	Esther Bottomley — Aimee Watson
Continental Cup Team	Paul Kovacs 👄	Jessica Yeaton ¹ Casey Wright — Anna Trnka —
AUS U23 Team	Jackson Bursill ² Nick Montgomery	Casey Wright Anna Trnka
AUS Junior Team	Damon Morton Hamish Roberts • Hugh Pollard • Abe Wright • Liam Burton	Xanthea Dewez ² Kat Paul Gabi Hawkins Stella Ajani Darcie Morton

Matt Bull ³ ¹ Part qualified for World Cup Team. One result needed.

² Part qualified for Continental Cup Team. One result needed.

Finlay Clarke

³ Post-Selected

2015 World Championship Pre-Qualification⁴

World Championship	Phillip Bellingham (A)	Esther Bottomley (A)
	Callum Watson (A)	Jessica Yeaton (A)
	Paul Kovacs (B)	Xanthea Dewez (A)
	Jackson Bursill (B)	Casey Wright (B)
	Ben Sim (B)	Anna Trnka (B)
		Aimee Watson (B)
		Kat Paul (B)
World U23	Nick Montgomery (A)	Anna Trnka (A)
Championship	Jackson Bursill (A)	Casey Wright (A)
World Junior	Damon Morton (B)	Xanthea Dewez (A)
Championship	8.0	Kat Paul (A)
World University	Callum Watson (A)	Jessica Yeaton (A)
Winter Games	Phillip Bellingham (A)	Anna Trnka (B)
	Jackson Bursill (A)	Casey Wright (B)
	Nick Montgomery (B)	
	Mark Pollock (B)	

Final selection to be ratified after final qualification deadlines. 🔴 Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club member



Hoppet tent inspection



These are not 'gnomes' but part of pre-Hoppet tent inspection



John Bailey up the pole (Hoppet flag installation)

Photos courtesy Paul L'Huillier

Membership Renewal

I intend recommending to the committee that next year we leave Regonline and manage our own membership. The stuff ups we experienced this year have still not been resolved to my satisfaction, and given the difficulties some people experienced I reckon we can do it at least as well ourselves. Watch the newsletter, the facebook page and the website for more details.

Editor wanted

I wish to flag my intention of not continuing as editor and membership secretary next year. I have been editor this time for fifteen years and I reckon it's time for someone else to have a go. I will write a job description soon for the editor's job and the membership secretary's job as well.